family illness…..

So sorry to hear today that the body found yesterday was that of missing Bristol girl Joanna Yeates. My heart goes out to her poor parents. I can’t imagine the anguish they must be going through. What a terrible thing to happen at Christmas time. Still, I don’t suppose they give a stuff about Christmas with all this going on.

I have realised from my own drama this winter that it is not the expensive presents and rich food that make this time special but the gifts of love, compassion and support. It has meant so much to me knowing that there are many people out there thinking of mum and I during this difficult time and are sending their love, thoughts and prayers to us. It may not seem like much but it really does make a difference and has helped keep me strong through all of this. It has also helped to bring our small and splintered family closer together. This is a surprising and lovely thing. And it has meant a lot to me to have my Father be there for me for once. And for once, I have let him be, another unexpected gift.

Since Mum was transferred to Southampton General hospital late on the 23rd December, things have been moving pretty quickly, they‘re really on the case. They did scans and X-rays during the night and called me at 9am Christmas Eve to say she was already in theatre. The operation ended up being longer and more complicated than expected. They found more necrotic tissue to remove from the pancreas along with a litre of puss and her gall bladder, she was in surgery for five hours.

I was eventually allowed to see her at 4.30pm Christmas Eve. She’s on a ventilator and heavily sedated with five drains in her. I thought she had a lot of tubes in her at Yeovil, but that was nothing compared to now. There are banks of bleeping machines keeping her alive and so many wires everywhere, there’s barely a patch of un-punctured skin. It’s still shocking for me to see my usually fit, strong and healthy Mother in such a vulnerable state. I still find it hard to accept how she got so ill.

They are hoping to start feeding her through one of these tubes soon and maybe remove the chest drain. However her kidneys aren’t working as well yet and they may start filtration soon which is a kind of temporary dialysis until mum’s can take over the work. She’s nearly made it though the first 24/48 hour period which I was told was crucial. Age unfortunately is not on her side but her stubborn Taurean nature and usually good health is. 

My beloved friend Rachel took pity on this poor little Christmas orphan yesterday and plied me with dinner, chocolates and Baileys. It was wonderful just to do normal stuff like watch TV and hang out with her family for a few hours and forget about hospitals. It was a wonderful gift to me. So you can keep your flash cameras, Christmas sweaters and new DVD’s, it really is all just irrelevant stuff. The best presents for me will be having my mum fit and healthy again, and the love and support of so many wonderful people in my life. Thank you.

About shivanifox

I live in Bristol and am into holistic health - especially herbalism, yoga, shamanism. I love great music, Mexican food and hanging out with friends :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

