FAMILY ILLNESS cont…

Although hoping to be back on BCFM and broadcasting again this spring, I am deeply disappointed to have to delay the second series of Vivacity indefinitely due to my mother’s continuing illness. After recovering from three months in hospital and life saving surgery on Christmas Eve, she is now fighting a case of re-occurring c-diff (Clostridium difficil)

This infection is caused by the extensive use of anti-biotics and crazily enough, the treatment for it is yet more anti-biotics. They have tried this approach unsuccessfully twice and I am now spending all my time, energy and journalistic skills researching natural remedies for this disease.

I’ve been horrified to learn the damage that it can do to the body and can even be fatal. I hope and pray that it wont’ get that bad for my mum as she has been through so much already and been so brave through all the invasive procedures that she’s had.

 It seems these resistant strains are becoming more widespread now and allopathic medicine seems to have little to offer in the way of remedies. Two doctors at my local practise have run out of ideas with how to treat her and the micro-biologist could only suggest stronger anti-biotics.

It’s been really tough emotionally, physically and mentally caring for my mum through all of this and it’s been much harder than I thought. I’ve found it more or less impossible to continue working through all the hospital visits, doctor’s appointments, district nurse calls and day to day existing.

However I still intend to return with a second series of Vivacity and have many, many ideas for the show.  At this stage though, I cannot say when that will be as I have no idea when my mother will be well enough to live independently again. In the meantime, I will continue posting on this site when I can, and thank you for your interest in the show and my blog. Go well and have a great summer.

About shivanifox

I live in Bristol and am into holistic health - especially herbalism, yoga, shamanism. I love great music, Mexican food and hanging out with friends :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

