REBECCA CANT – LUNCHTIME LIVE AT ST STEPHENS CHURCH, BRISTOL – 27.07.11

I was lucky enough to meet Rebecca at a house party last December not long after she moved to Bristol. She was accompanying an impromptu jam with her stunning vocals. So I was not going to miss an opportunity to hear her perform at the lunchtime live sessions at St Stephens. I was not disappointed. Rebecca sang beautifully, seducing her audience with mesmerising, mahogany rich tones that were eagerly embraced by the acoustics of this ancient church.

I loved the way she personalised each song with a story of its creation and whether on piano or guitar, the spirit of love weaved through each one of them. I loved “millionaire” a track written after travelling in India and “Lorna” a track dedicated to an old friend, and was touched by her small tribute to Amy Winehouse on the last song. Rebecca has a big voice and a big heart and I’m so glad she came to Bristol to live.

FFi: http://rebeccacant.bandcamp.com/

copyright © sarah shivani williams 2011. all rights reserved.

About shivanifox

I live in Bristol and am into holistic health - especially herbalism, yoga, shamanism. I love great music, Mexican food and hanging out with friends :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to REBECCA CANT – LUNCHTIME LIVE AT ST STEPHENS CHURCH, BRISTOL – 27.07.11

  1. Elisabeth says:

    Great review – I have posted it on Saint Stephen’s Facebook Page.

    Although I was helping promote the concert, I could not be there (I was in London that day for the Organic Food Awards). I had not met Rebecca, but we ended up the following Friday in the same class – Let Go and Dance – dancing together. I did not know it was her until we connected on Facebook! Funny small wonderful world…

    The next series of Lunchtime Live concerts at Saint Stephen’s are in September – free (with donations). And another great line-up…

    Thanks so much for the review – it was lovely to read.

Leave a Reply

