Kombucha talk – Freeskilling Event at the Better Food Company, St Werburghs, Bristol – 27th Nov 2012

I’m still slightly buzzing after my first talk last night about brewing Kombucha as part of the Freeskilling schedule. I’ve been brewing my own Kombucha tea now for about a year and thought it would be a good idea to spread the love further afield. I’ve never done anything like this before as I’m usually in a studio behind a microphone instead of seeing my audience face to face. But the Freeskilling lot are a lovely bunch and I knew they’d be gentle with me.

Kombucha is a health drink that helps alkalise the body, provides probiotics and offers many other benefits to health when drunk regularly. People in the Far East have been brewing it for thousands of years and in traditional Chinese medicine they refer to it as “the elixir of life”. It helps to balance spleen and stomach chi aiding in better digestion and delivery of nutrients as well as reducing stagnation and damp in the body and expelling toxins. In addition it can help with the following:

  • Balances internal PH (important in cancer prevention)
  • Increases Metabolism
  • Detoxifies the liver
  • Reduces blood pressure
  • Reduces kidney stones
  • Relieves headaches and migraines
  • Speeds hair and nail growth
  • High in anti-oxidants
  • Also contains glucosamine which is good for arthritis sufferers.

I started drinking it to see if it would help with my digestive problems. After taking painkillers for many years following a back injury, my poor tum was very sensitive and prone to bloating, acid indigestion, cramps and severe constipation. I managed to control it by cutting out dairy, meat, caffeine, alcohol, sugar and processed foods and sticking pretty rigidly to that.

I started with about 4oz per day mixed with water and found improvements within days. A year later and I can say it’s helped my digestion fabulously. I’ve only had one bad attack in that time and can now indulge in the odd cake or cappuccino – yay! I also have more energy, a robust immune system and stronger nails. So this is why I wanted to spread the Kombucha wisdom.

It’s pretty easy to make, you just need sugar, water, tea and a Scoby; this is a symbiotic culture of binary yeasts and looks a bit like a blobby jellyfish. It’s white to brown in colour and it transforms the tea into enzymes, vitamins and organic acids. It’s a living organism and if given the right environment it will not only thrive but also grow babies that you can use for other brews or to pass onto others. It takes about 10 – 14 days to brew, according to personal taste, and then you can bottle it up and drink. Hey presto – a home remedy that works and doesn’t break the bank.

I will be featuring Kombucha on my radio show on the 21st December, so if you’d like to find out more about it tune in at 1pm on 93.2 (in the Greater Bristol area) or online at http://www.bcfm.org.uk

About shivanifox

I live in Bristol and am into holistic health - especially herbalism, yoga, shamanism. I love great music, Mexican food and hanging out with friends :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

