THE YOGA CHALLENGE – BRISTOL CITY YOGA, BACKFIELDS LANE, STOKES CROFT, BRISTOL

16 Jan                                      BCY2

So I’ve been to another two sessions since I last blogged about my yoga challenge. A training course has prevented me from doing more. Last week was really hectic and intense so I loved Morven Hamilton’s Restorative Yoga class on Friday evenings at 6.45pm. I’ve been hearing great things about this class for a while now and I’m happy to say it lived up to its reputation. The energy in the room throughout the whole class was very calm and nurturing. Morven teaches in a very serene manner which sets the tone and pace of the whole class.

Beginning with some slow moves to warm the body up, we moved into some of the more classic yoga asanas in a relaxed and steady pace. This really allowed the body to feel into the poses from a gentle suggestion of movement rather than with any effort. Two more very deep but relaxing postures whilst supine followed before the final relaxation with dimmed lights, blankets and eye pillows – bliss! This class is an oasis of tranquillity in the turbulence of contemporary life and a beautiful start to the weekend. It was like putting a very definite full stop in between the end of the working week and the beginning of “me time”. Like the pause in between breaths I found stillness and touched base with myself again.

Another teacher I’ve been hearing good things about it is Scott and I finally got to try his hatha flow class today at lunchtime. I arrived with my energy levels literally bouncing off the walls following some very good news this morning and I knew I needed to “calm down dear”. I can sometimes get a bit hyper and if this continues I soon crash and burn. Not to mention getting on some people’s nerves and them suspecting I’ve been on speed or something. Pacing myself has never been one of my strong points so this class was perfectly timed.

After a few days of not exercising it was a great one hour class to choose. With gentle delivery Scott led us through sun salutations, allowing the postures to flow easily whilst using down dog posture as the cornerstone for our practise. Some of those postures really worked me – especially the Warrior 1 and 3, but boy was it good to stretch after two days of being stuck at a desk.

BCY1
Before relaxation, Scott introduced us to a partner exercise. Whilst one was in child’s pose, the other lay gently on their back reaching over their head and holding hands with the person on the bottom. I really wasn’t sure about this as I have a lot of back issues but actually it was way more comfortable than it sounds. Whilst the lovely Sasha lay on my back, the gentle pressure of her body helped stretch out my sacral area which is usually tight and constricted. And when I lay on her back the action of holding each other’s hands gave a gorgeous stretch across my arms, shoulders and upper back. Really glad I felt the fear and did it anyway. I left the studio with much steadier energy and feeling more grounded and back in my body. Although still a little buzzing with the good news from radio land……Watch this space for more details soon 🙂

About shivanifox

I live in Bristol and am into holistic health - especially herbalism, yoga, shamanism. I love great music, Mexican food and hanging out with friends :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

